"Unable to connect to the PVP.net server" FIX!

123
Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Sir Kim Jong Il

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

Senior Member

26-05-2010

Hey guys,

since I know RIOT is busy patching and thinning out the problems I've been doing some research and found a fix for my problem of not being able to connect... Now I've done 2 things this morning and tried after that so I'm not sure if you need both or just one would suffice.. I'll still post them both:

Cleaning out your temporary internet files and system registry may solve various issues with the launcher. You can clean out temporary files manually by doing the following:

* Open the Start Menu
* Right click your hard drive (usually C
* Select Properties
* Under the General tab, select Disk Cleanup
* Wait for Disk Cleanup to scan your hard drive
* Check the following boxes: Delet Temporary Internet Files, Temporary Files

and:

Windows 7 and Vista

1. Open the Start Menu
2. Open Control Panel
3. Select Network and Internet
4. Select Network and Sharing center
5. Select Change Adapter Settings on the navigation bar on the left
6. Right click on your network adapter and select properties
7. Select Internet Protocal Version 4 (TCP/IPv4) and open Properties
8. Go to the bottom of the menu and change "Obtain DNS server address automatically," to "Use the following DNS server addresses:"
9. Put in the following public DNS servers, one in each empty field:
4.2.2.2
4.2.2.3
10. Save your changes by selecting Ok



After this I rebooted and I immediately got in! Let me know if it's working or not Good luck all!


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

serpejin

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

Junior Member

26-05-2010

Windows Xp User here: not work


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Sir Kim Jong Il

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

Senior Member

26-05-2010

This is for XP:

Windows XP:

1. Open the Start Menu
2. Open Control Panel
3. Open Network Connections
4. Right click on your network adapter and select properties
5. Select Internet Protocal (TCP/IP) and open Properties
6. Go to the bottom of the menu and change "Obtain DNS server address automatically," to "User the following DNS server addresses:"
7. Put in the following public DNS servers, one in each empty field:
4.2.2.2
4.2.2.3
8. Save your changes by selecting Ok


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

ranaghar

Member

26-05-2010

If you have to change DNS servers it just means your provider has some cache.

From the command prompt (Start > Run > cmd), check with your original DNS servers what "nslookup prod.eu.lol.riotgames.com" gives you. It should return 216.52.241.140 as IP address.


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Dobbe

Junior Member

26-05-2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by ranaghar View Post
If you have to change DNS servers it just means your provider has some cache.

From the command prompt (Start > Run > cmd), check with your original DNS servers what "nslookup prod.eu.lol.riotgames.com" gives you. It should return 216.52.241.140 as IP address.

request timed out

It shows the right ip but didn't gave abck.

Firewall or something?


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Kyuubië

Member

28-05-2010

Nothing helps for me i will just have to wait 2 fix the prob

PS: Sometimes i log in the game but at champ selection same **** Unable to connect to PvP.net


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

GanzSchnKnorke

This user has referred a friend to League of Legends, click for more information

Junior Member

12-06-2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommos View Post
Hey guys,

since I know RIOT is busy patching and thinning out the problems I've been doing some research and found a fix for my problem of not being able to connect... Now I've done 2 things this morning and tried after that so I'm not sure if you need both or just one would suffice.. I'll still post them both:

Cleaning out your temporary internet files and system registry may solve various issues with the launcher. You can clean out temporary files manually by doing the following:

* Open the Start Menu
* Right click your hard drive (usually C
* Select Properties
* Under the General tab, select Disk Cleanup
* Wait for Disk Cleanup to scan your hard drive
* Check the following boxes: Delet Temporary Internet Files, Temporary Files

and:

Windows 7 and Vista

1. Open the Start Menu
2. Open Control Panel
3. Select Network and Internet
4. Select Network and Sharing center
5. Select Change Adapter Settings on the navigation bar on the left
6. Right click on your network adapter and select properties
7. Select Internet Protocal Version 4 (TCP/IPv4) and open Properties
8. Go to the bottom of the menu and change "Obtain DNS server address automatically," to "Use the following DNS server addresses:"
9. Put in the following public DNS servers, one in each empty field:
4.2.2.2
4.2.2.3
10. Save your changes by selecting Ok



After this I rebooted and I immediately got in! Let me know if it's working or not Good luck all!

I use Vista, but I'm from germany, so what DNS server should I use? It dont accept
4.2.2.2
4.2.2.3

pls help


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

fuutfuut

Junior Member

14-06-2010

When i use this, i can start and play LoL, but browsing isnt possible anymore. I cannot open _any_ webpage... How do i solve this?
When i remove the DNS settings, i can browse just fine, but LoL aint working...

Really annoying..

Windows 7 here btw!


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Cutting Deep

Junior Member

19-06-2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by serpejin View Post
Windows Xp User here: not work
-------------------


Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Moosar

Member

12-08-2010

Works on Windows XP (the DNS change). But it's about time they fix this problem, imho, been going one for months now (and yes, it has something to do with their network, probably their DNS routing somewhere)


123