The Magnificient FAQ for Pick-a-Champion!

Comment below rating threshold, click here to show it.

Dalethas

27-09-2010

Don't panic if this FAQ is long! Just use ctrl+f to search for the most pressing concerns you have regarding buying a new champion. Take it easy, you don't have to read this all through.

Having seen a rise in the number of "help me pick a champion" threads, I thought I'd post a compilation of some of the most frequently asked questions. These are just to help you rationalize your choice on the character you want to play. I'll try to build this guide to last from one game version to another, so expect updates. Also, if you'd like to add a question, feel free. I'll try to answer myself, or seek an answer (or pick one from the replies) and then I'll edit the question in to this first post on the thread (so only checking this one page will keep you updated).

About me, in short:

- I started playing last spring.
- I bought Master Yi as soon as I hit 400 IP, went 60% win ratio with him.
- I bought Tryndamere as soon as I could afford, went 60-75% win/loss ratio.
- I never used runes until level 20, at which point I bought Xin Zhao, Vladimir and Kassadin with skins using RP and spent ~15k IP that I had saved to build runes for Vlad and Kas.
- For every character I play, I have read at least five to ten guides from various sources.
- Currently I have a win/loss ratio of 55-60% which counts as "above average" in elo terms. I have rarely more than five deaths and less than ten kills in a match, but this varies with the champions I play.
- I don't claim to be an all-knowing pro, but I do try to do enough research to answer with credibility. The purpose is to help, not boost my ego by portraying vast knowledge. If I make a mistake, point it out and I will fix it.

There are no stupid questions, only stupid people who flame people asking questions.

1) Champion cost related questions

Q: I have ~3k IP, should I buy a champion or wait until I have 6300?